Main Characters: Magdalena Wells, Law Pierce



For justice. For country. For love.

After witnessing her friend’s sexual assault, seven year senior, Magdalena Wells escapes an attack with a few bruises and a thousand questions. As a journalist in practice, if not in pay, Mags vows to utilize the skills she mastered in the Democratic Republic of Congo and answer every single one, just as soon as she gets the hell out of town.

Law Pierce’s aim is rest and relaxation after two years undercover in South Africa on an extended Base Branch mission, but restlessness puts him in trouble’s path. As a servant of justice, Law will do everything in his power to keep trouble safe. The fact that trouble’s petite stature and luscious curves stir his every primal instinct is a massive inconvenience he struggles to ignore.

Together Magdalena and Law uncover a web of corruption and dirty lies that could set their country’s top official ablaze, if the inferno doesn’t consume them first.



I received a reviewer’s copy of this book from Xpresso Book Tours for the purpose of providing an honest review during the books blog tour campaign.

This is my second book from Megan Mitcham, and I’m really happy to say that I will definitely be watching out for more books from her. I especially liked this sereies because it was a combination of suspense, sex, romance, and action. As much as I enjoyed the first book in this series, I loved this second book much, much more.

The first book, Enemy Mine, concentrated too much on the hero and the heroine. It wasn’t a bad thing because if you read that book, you’d know why the story had to be told that way. This book, though, had a lot more people involved in it. Not that the scenes between the hero and heroine were less, it’s just that there were many other characters mentioned here.

The hero in this book is a great guy. You will have met him if you read the first book because he was such an interesting character there. In this book, you will all meet the kind of man he truly is. The heroine is also a great girl. She’s brave, loyal and smart. I don’t think we meet many heroines who are brave and kickass without being stupid or stubborn.

Megan Mitcham’s base branch series is truly a worthy read. The actions scenes are as vivid as any other scene. The romance is not cheesy. The main characters are believable. The conflict is explosive and intricate. I am so glad to have had the privilege of reviewing this book because it has certainly been one of the best ones I’ve ever read. I’m not so big into romantic suspense novels. Sometimes, these books have such a great build-up but fall short when we get to the most exciting part. Megan Mitcham was able to deliver great action scenes while balancing a great story for amazing characters with electrifying chemistry.




Reading Order [book-series]

Book 1 – Enemy Mine

Book 2 – Justice Mine

Book 3 – Stranger Mine

Book 4 – Warrior Mine



« »