Beautiful heiress Dalilah Gallagher, a former child art prodigy, has lost her way. Harsh criticism in her formative years has left her floundering and without the artistic voice that once centered her life. Now, at the age of 20, she has spent the last nine years trying to reclaim what she lost.

Her struggles lead her to the nude-modeling world in New York City, where she hopes she will find her passion for art again. What she finds is surprising: Her artistic voice isn’t gone, merely misplaced.

Luke Roberts has a different problem. Raised by a solid, working-class fisherman in Maine, Luke is a gifted artist struggling to get a foothold in the busy New York City art scene. His gifts attract the attention of a wealthy benefactor, Blake Nottingham, who finds himself fascinated with Dalilah. Nottingham commissions Luke to provide him with a piece of art: A painting of Dalilah.

As the two young artists fall in love, Dalilah finds her artistic voice once more, so she’ll do anything to help Luke find the prominence he deserves. This leads to a dangerous game of deceit that puts Dalilah in Nottingham’s clutches when she tries to manipulate him into helping Luke.

Nottingham isn’t easily manipulated, though, and things go seriously awry for Dalilah. What happens when the manipulated becomes the manipulator?

Will Dalilah’s lies cause her to lose the one person that means everything her?



I received a copy of this book from Xpresso Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.

I wanted to like this book. The plot is nothing new, though. There’s always a love triangle. The heroine fall for a man who feels he is not good enough for her because, of course, she is this amazing perfect girl which everybody but herself can see. Then, there’ sa brooding rich man who wants her, but he’s dark and difficult to trust.

Honestly, this book was okay overall. I just couldn’t fall in love with the heroine. I don’t know why, but she just couldn’t win me over. Maybe it was her immaturity, her insensitivity, or her annoying decisions. I just don’t get it. The hero was kind of okay, but I think I was more feeling sorry for him than actually liking him.

This is a first in the trilogy, so you know how these serials go. You always get disappointed by the ending. Fortunately, I was already expecting the story to end like that, so there was no surprise there. A testament this book being a good one is that by the time you get to the ending, you already want to move on to the next book. I may not have liked the heroine, but I think it’s safe to say I’m going to be looking for the next book and read it too.



Reading Order [book-series]

Book 1 – Fearless

Book 2 – Secrets And Lies

Book 3 – Trapped




« »