I received an ARC of this book from IndieSage PR in exchange for an honest review and as part of the book’s blog tour promotions.

This series has been full of amazing standalone novels. They are interconnected by the fact that the male main characters are all players of the New York Kings baseball team. However, each book has its own story which can be read on its own. Me myself, this is only my second book from this series, but I am really going to make time to read the previous books because the two books that I’ve read were nothing but great reads.

This book’s hero is a Coke addict who also relies a lot of performance enhancing drugs. The heroine is a drug addiction counselor who was born from a junkie mother who left her as soon as she was born. On paper, the main characters sound like they are the least likely to really have a happy ending together.

I really liked this book because apart from the dual POVs that made you see things through the eyes of both main characters, this book also detailed the game, the struggles of a professional baseball player, and the daily difficulties that an addict has to go through.

I didn’t fall in love with the hero, and he won’t likely be in my book boyfriends list, but I sure as hell admire him for his courage and his constant victory over his addiction. There are real people like him in this world who deserve to be appreciated if only for the fact that they are willing to make things better for themselves.

I also found the heroine to be a bit naive and idealistic, but she was strong and brave, and any reader would admire her character. Collette West has once again come up with a book that doesn’t only show us the glamorous side of MLB but also the ugly back stories that happen in locker rooms and in private offices. This series is certainly one that I will gladly recommend.

Reading Order [book-series]

Book 1 – Night Games

Book 2 – Game Changer

Book 3 – Game On

Book 4 – Perfect Game

Book 5 – Inside Game


« »