I received an ARC of this book from IndieSgae PR in exchange for an honest review and as part of the book’s blog tour promotions.

Your brother’s best friend. Your best friend’s little sister. There’s an unspoken rule between friends where you’re not supposed to mess around with each other’s siblings. Your friends know exactly how you are in relationships, and if you’re a player, you would be the last person your own friend would want their sibling to end up with.

I like the general plot fo this book. Of course, it goes without saying that the more you fight your feelings for one person, the bigger that feeling grows. Seriously. That’s the whole secret to love. If you fight it, you lose. Why hasn’t anybody learned this at all? Anyway, going back to the book, I always like stories like this book.

However, I also have to say that I’m not the biggest fan of this book. It was good. I was just looking for something special, I guess. I mean, the constant hot and cold, back and forth between the main characters got old fast. It’s either you want it or not. That’s it. I think the hero took too much time not doing anything about his feelings and justifying his non-action.

Another issue I had with the book was that I felt like too much was going on. There’s the whole fighting-your-feelings thing, then there’s other secondary characters who like to mind other people’s business, then there’s the whole danger thing and stuff. I wish that the focus would have been more on the development of the characters and the relationship rather than adding more complications to the situation. That’s just me. I don’t expect everyone to agree with me, but that’s how I feel.

Still, Rebecca Zanetti is a talented author who doesn’t have to prove anything at all. Her other books and her paranormal romance series are more than successful and have garnered loyal followers. For that alone, I’d gladly recommend this author without hesitation. Also, I have to point out that while Over The Top is not her best work, the other books in this series are definitely worth reading.

Reading Order [book-series]

Book 1 – Against The Wall

Book 2 – Under The Covers

Book 3 – Riding Assets

Book 4 – Over The Top


« »