I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

I’m not really one to love the circus. I mean, I like watching the shows and all that, but I’ve never been really intrigued by it beyond that. However, in fiction, I like knowing what goes on behind the curtain. I like reading about how these people from different backgrounds come together, live with each other, and travel around to places just to perform.

Arcanium is not your usual circus. There’s Bell Madoc, the jinn and fortune teller who makes your wishes come true in the most twisted ways. There’s Kitty, the bearded lady, who’s found her place right in the middle of demons and the otherworldly. And of course, there’s the ringmaster, a scary demon who is someone you would not want to cross.

I loved reading this book. Of course, I really liked Maya, but Caroline is a good character too. While you can read this as a standalone, you’ll enjoy it more if you’ve read Fortune. This is where you will meet Madoc and Maya and understand their history. As a second book, Carousel continues in giving us a great portrait of a dark and sinister circus where nothing is normal and the things that exist within its grounds are things that any normal person only dreams about.

The author does a great job of creating a mental picture of these characters that we come to meet in Arcanium. I could vividly imagine the twisted carousel that Caroline was in charge of. I could clearly see the two men bound to the carousel as mounts, coming alive at night to find their release, depending on Caroline to save them from their servitude.

I would most definitely recommend this book if you like your books different from the usual. This isn’t your normal romance novel. It’s full of sex and kink and paranormal oddities. However, it is quite good and engaging. I will surely follow this series and will be watching out for the next installments.

Reading Order [book-series]

Book 1 – Fortune

Book 2 – Carousel

Book 3 – Aerial

« »